Salmon ceviche

Posted: August 9, 2014 in Appetizer, Miscellaneous, Seafood

Having recently returned from vacations in Brazil, I remember one great dish which I had there from neighboring Peru: ceviche. It’s basically raw fish, marinated in some citrus juice and seasoned with vegetables. It was a great summer dish, so to enjoy the unusually hot Seattle summer, I tried it out with our local salmon.

WP_20140809_001

I got the salmon from my local Costco (good quality for large quantities), and used other ingredients I had at home, from a few recipes I found online. I didn’t have any chili pepper, so ground black pepper had to do. And I had some friends who don’t like cilantro, so parsley it was. For my first attempt, I think it came out good, but came out with the impression that I could add more ingredients for good variations (chopped sweet chili peppers, mango, cilantro per se, among others). Definitely something I’ll try again some other time.

Ingredients (appetizer or a light main entrée, for 6 people)

  • 1.5 lbs. salmon (I used wild sockeye, my favorite), with bones and skin removed, chopped in 1/2” pieces
  • juice of 2 limes
  • juice of 1 orange
  • 1/2 medium onion (I used sweet onions, turned out great), very finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 cup parsley, finely chopped
  • salt & pepper

Mix the chopped salmon, lime / orange juices, the onion, the cumin and salt & pepper in a bowl. Cover with a plastic film and refrigerate for at least 1.5 hours.

About 15 minutes before serving, remove the fish from the refrigerator, strain it to discard the liquid and mix wit the parsley. Let it get closer to the room temperature for 15 minutes then serve either by itself or with thinly-sliced and toasted hard bread (such as Italian or French).

Enjoy!

Comments

Leave a Reply

