Flambéed butter mushrooms

Posted: February 23, 2012 in Miscellaneous, Side dish, Vegetarian

When shopping for the Yogurt-Chicken Curry, I bought a pack of sliced white mushrooms that I thought would go well with the sauce. But, as I do quite often, I forgot that ingredient and it remained chilling in the fridge until the next day when I realized my memory lapse… That same week I went to a friend’s house who was cooking some gougères (which were great, by the way), I noticed a recipe for flambéed mushrooms (I don’t know where it came from). Since I like to play with fire (and we still had some cognac left), the next dinner I decided to try it out at home.

DSC_0093

If you have pre-sliced mushrooms, this is really, really fast to prepare (about 10 minutes, or more if you want to gratin it with cheese as I did). It also tasted really good (although since I only had about 1/4 cup of cognac left it didn’t leave as much flavor as I ‘d wish), so I’ll definitely try it again.

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. sliced white (button) mushrooms
    • Other kinds probably would work as well, such as chanterelles or shitakes.
  • 2 tbsp. butter
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 cup cognac (I’d use 1/2 cup if I had more)
  • grated parmesan or pecorino cheese (I used the latter, although the former would also work out just fine)
  • salt & pepper

On a large pan (non-stick is preferred), heat the oil and the butter until the butter is completely melted and starts foaming. Add the mushrooms, salt and pepper and sauté them for about 5 minutes, until there’s hardly any liquid left in the pan.

Remove the pan from the heat and add the cognac, lighting it up with a long match. Swirl the pan until the fire is extinguished. Transfer them to an oven-safe dish, then grate some hard cheese on top of it. Add to a pre-heated broil for 3 minutes, then serve immediately.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

