Shrimp in a gorgonzola sauce

Posted: January 12, 2012 in Cheese, Food, Seafood
Tags:

I love shrimp. It has been one of my favorite foods growing up, both because it tastes really good, and because it used to be quite expensive, so we didn’t have it often and the wait often makes a dish taste better. After moving to the Seattle area and meeting Costco for the first time, with their quite inexpensive (huge) bags of shrimp (already peeled!) it seemed like I found my place to live :), and so far I always have some of the shrimp in my freezer for some special dinner.

DSC_0889

My love affair with gorgonzola wasn’t that clear. I know that, like most kids, I didn’t try it at first because I didn’t like its smell. Probably some day (which I don’t really remember) I decided to try it and liked it. Nowadays I really like it, so much that any time me (and my wife, who shares this taste) will order a salad in a restaurant, if they have one with it (or another blue cheese), odds are that we’ll end up choosing that.

One thing which I like about gorgonzola is that its flavor is strong enough that it doesn’t need much to make a very good sauce. I’ve started with about 5 and kept removing ingredients until I decided that, for my taste, you don’t need anything other than this wonderful cheese and some milk. Even salt and pepper aren’t really necessary for the sauce itself (some cooks will likely start browsing out of this page now), as long as the meat it goes with is properly seasoned.

So this was a very quick, and quite delicious dinner which I made in a week day last month. The fingerling potatoes (easy to make) and the quinoa (interesting texture) in the dish are two of the ingredients which I started using recently (somehow I always passed by them in the supermarket), and they ended up going quite well with the shrimp.

Ingredients:

  • Shrimp
    • 1lb shrimp, cooked, thawed
    • juice of 1 lime
    • salt & pepper
    • 3 garlic cloves, minced
    • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • Sauce
    • 4oz. gorgonzola cheese
    • 1 cup milk

Mix the shrimp with the lime juice, salt and pepper, then leave for at least 15 minutes. Heat the oil in a large frying pan and add the garlic. Pat the shrimp dry and add it to the pan, frying it for 5 minutes, to get the garlic flavor, then remove the shrimp and reserve.

In the same pan, add the cheese and the milk, then mixing it over low heat until the cheese is dissolved. Add the shrimp back to the pan, mix it to coat with the sauce and serve immediately. I used for side dishes the quinoa salad (both red and white, with chopped tomatoes, olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper) and roasted fingerling potatoes (drizzled with olive oil, salt and pepper).

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

